Blueberry Coffee Cake

 

So, last night I had some company coming over for a meeting.  It is always nice to serve treats when company is coming over.  But, what to make when you get home from work at 5:00 and don’t really want to go to the grocery store again?

The answer to that question is Blueberry Coffee Cake.  I got this recipe from my mom.  Now, to tell you the truth, I have no idea where she got it from.  My first memory of this coffee cake is when we had photographers to our house to come take our family portrait.  I think it was in 1995 or 1996.  All of us (mom, dad, sister, brother and me) wore denim.  Yes, denim.  It’s quite the portrait.  My parents still have it in their family room.  So, my mom made this coffee cake to serve the photographers, and allowed us kids to try a piece (it was a big deal to have an adult dessert back then).  I fell in love, and I was not certain if I had ever tried a sweet treat that was so delicious.  By the way Mom, this is a true story.  And thank you so much for this dessert recipe!

This coffee cake is a wonderful snack to serve with coffee or tea in the evening.  It is also great with a recess coffee (I know that there are people out there that have coffee breaks, but in elementary school, we have recess).   

The only thing about this recipe is that it is messy to eat.  The cinnamon sugar topping crumbles a bit and makes a mess.  BUT, I think that the mess is totally worth making and eating this cake.  Try it.  You won’t regret it.

Blueberry Coffee Cake
recipe from my mom, Kathy Tolmie

Makes an 8×8 pan (at least 12 pieces)

1/2 cup butter
3/4 cup sugar
2 eggs
1 tsp. vanilla extract
3/4 cup milk
2 cups flour
2 tsp. baking powder
1 cup blueberries- fresh or frozen
Topping
3/4 cup brown sugar
4 tsp. cinnamon

Preheat oven to 350° F.  Cream butter and sugar together.  Mix in eggs and vanilla until they are combined.  Mix in milk, flour and baking powder just until combined.  Fold in blueberries.  Pour mixture into 8×8 pan and spread out evenly.  Mix topping and sprinkle on top.  Bake for 35-40 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.  (Note:  this took closer to 45-50 minutes to cook in my oven).  Let cool and enjoy!

XOXO,
The Hungry Teacher

1 Comment

Filed under Dessert

One response to “Blueberry Coffee Cake

  1. Kathy

    I made this again last night it is always good and quick.!

Leave a Reply

