Chicken Parmigiana and Five Minute Tomato Sauce

 

 

 So, I left for work this morning, not knowing what I was going to have for dinner.  I hate that feeling.  Really, wheneverI get a moment throughout the day, I think about what I’m going to have for dinner.  I was paging through 3 or 4 cookbooks when I ate breakfast, and saw the recipe for Chicken Parmigiana.  I thought to myself, “well, maybe”.   But in typical Hungry Teacher fashion, I was indecisive.  Well, sometime after school, I made up my mind and stopped at the grocery store on the way home. 

 

By the way, in case you were wondering, the picture at the top of the page (the header) is one that I took myself in Florence.  When we were strolling the little curving streets, taking in the sights and sounds of an Italian city, we stumbled upon this small market.  It was truly an amazing sight!  Sigh.  I love Italy and can’t wait to go back.  

This recipe is so good!  It tastes amazing, and is not too much work.  You must try making the homemade tomato sauce.  It is sooo delicious and honestly takes 5 minutes to cook.  

Chicken Parmigiana
(from Great Food Fast)
Serves 4
  

3/4 cup plain breadcrumbs
3/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese
8 chicken cutlets or 4 boneless, skinless chicken
breast halves, halved horizontally (about 1-1/2 cups)
Coarse salt and fresh ground pepper
1 large egg, lightly beaten
2 cups of 5 Minute Tomato Sauce (see recipe below)
1/4 cup olive oil
6 ounces mozzarella cheese, preferably fresh, cut into eight 1/4-inch-thick slices
 

Heat the broiler.  Combine the breadcrumbs and the Parmesan in a shallow bowl.  Season both sides of the chicken with salt and pepper.  Dip the chicken in the beaten egg, then dredge in the breadcrumb mixture, turning to coat both sides.  

Spread the tomato sauce onto the bottom of a 10×15 inch baking dish (I used a 9×13 pan, but the chicken really has to be crammed in).  Heat 2 Tbsp. of the oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium heat.  Place 4 chicken cutlets in the skillet; cook until golden (1-2 minutes on each side).  Transfer the browned chicken cutlets to the baking dish, placing them on top of the sauce.  Repeat with the remaining oil and chicken cutlets.  

Top each cutlet with a slice of mozzarella.  Broil about 4 inches under the heat until the sauce is hot and the cheese is melted and lightly browned in spots, 5 to 8 minutes.  Serve immediately.  

Leftovers are great heated up for lunch the next day.  Yum!  

David Rocco’s Mom’s Five-Minute Tomato Sauce
I adapted this recipe from David Rocco’s Dolce Vita.  This is a wonderful, Italian-Canadian cookbook.  The book is simply gorgeous and David’s writing is interesting and fantastic.  

Makes about 4 cups, enough for 4 servings of pasta 

4 tbsp extra-virgin olive oil
2 cloves garlic, coarsely chopped
Chili pepper flakes, to taste (optional)
1 can (28 oz/796 mL) tomato puree or plum tomatoes ( I used diced tomatoes today.  If you crush them up with a spoon a bit as you are making this recipe, it turns out just fine!)
Salt, to taste 

Heat up olive oil and brown the garlic a bit.  Add some chili flakes if you want a little extra heat (a delicious option in my opinion).  Add tomato puree and some salt and let simmer for 5 minutes.  If you have fresh basil (sigh, I cannot wait until summer!), tear some up and throw it in. 

By the way, if you use this sauce for the Chicken Parmigiana, you will have 2 cups of sauce left over.  You can freeze it  (for around 4 months) or refrigerate it (for 4-5 days) and use it for something else.  I had some extra tomato puree in my freezer and I threw it into the sauce.  It turned out great! 

Enjoy!
The Hungry Teacher

2 Comments

Filed under Dinner

2 responses to “Chicken Parmigiana and Five Minute Tomato Sauce

  1. Marie

    This looks so yummy! I have been meaning to buy chicken for ages but can never think of a really good reason to buy it…
    I think I have one now!
    🙂

  2. Oh my mommy! These were fantastic. Thank you for the recipe. I have a cooking recipe site as well and Id like to exchange links with you. Let me know if this is possible. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

