BBQ Chicken Pizza

Dinner tonight.  It’s Friday, which has more often than not been pizza night at our house.  One of our all time favourite pizzas is BBQ Chicken Pizza!  It’s a nice change from your average tomato based sauce, and it is so easy to make.

Tonight, I went to the grocery store and picked up a rotisserie chicken to use.  I cut/shredded the meat to put on the pizza.  I always save my chicken carcasses to make stock out of later.  It tastes so good, and it always makes me feel good to use ALL of my chicken!  Grandma would be so proud!  I came home and I had some mushrooms that were a little… sad.  I cut them up anyways and threw them on the pizza.

I use a Pampered Chef Large Round Stone to make my pizzas on.  Pampered Chef stoneware is incredible.  If you don’t have any, you need to get some!  It cooks food evenly, without burning it!  You don’t need to turn your pan if your oven heats a little bit uneven.  I use mine for cookies, fries, cinnamon buns, pizza, bread, etc.  I use a 9X13 size roasting stoneware the most, with my flat rectangle stone coming in a close second. 

I have made this pizza many times before and it usually turns out good.  It lacked something tonight though, and I’m not sure what.  I think next time I will buy a spicy BBQ sauce (I used Steakhouse this time).  We like food with a bit of a kick.  I sliced the onions and threw them on raw, but next time I’m going to saute them in a bit of olive oil first.  I kept thinking tonight that a little feta crumbled over top would have made a delicious addition.  I think it would have added a little bit of saltiness and tang, which would have contrasted nicely with the smokey sweetness of the BBQ sauce. 

I used some bread dough that I had made and frozen for my crust.  It was disappointing, but I’m not sure why it didn’t turn out the way it should have.  It was bland and really tough.  I have frozen dough before, but… this one just didn’t work.  It happens:(  I’ll do some more research before I freeze dough again.  Maybe I’ll be able to figure it out.  If you have any suggestions or ideas, let me know!  I do have a couple of amazing recipes for pizza dough that I’ll share at a later date.   So, here’s the recipe.

BBQ Chicken Pizza
Makes 1-9″ or 10″ pizza

Enough dough for one pizza crust
Cornmeal, to sprinkle on baking sheet or pizza stone.
1-2 cups of chopped, cooked chicken
1-1/4 cup BBQ sauce, divided
1/2 cup of onions, sliced
4 mushrooms, sliced
2 cups mozzarella cheese, shredded

1.  Preheat oven to 450° F.  Sprinkle baking sheet or stone with cornmeal.  Roll or stretch dough onto the sheet.

2.  Mix 1/2 cup of the BBQ sauce with the chicken.  Spread remaining BBQ sauce on pizza dough.

3.  Top with chicken, onions, mushrooms and cheese.  Bake for 10-12 minutes or until crust is golden brown and cheese is melted and beautiful.  Enjoy!

The Hungry Teacher

4 Comments

Filed under Dinner

4 responses to “BBQ Chicken Pizza

  1. Marie

    I made a sweet dough for cinammon buns a while ago (from pionnerwoman.com) and then I froze half of the dough. I found as long as I totally unthawed the dough it baked up fine. I did make buns too (another time) and I froze them after the first rising and then thawed them and let them rise the second time and they were perfect! But it is a bit more time consuming to have to wait for it to thaw rather then just pulling it out of the freezer and into the oven… I think it took about….6 hours haha. I took them out in the morning and they were ready perfectly for dinner.

    p.S. this is also my boyfriends favourite pizza. I cook for him ALL the time, but usually stick with frozen pizza (time) but this I am bookmarking 🙂

    • I have a recipe for pizza dough that takes maybe 10 minutes to make, with a stand mixer. I will post it some time, I promise. I did thaw my dough all day in the fridge for pizza, and I have done that before as well. But, that’s good to know. Yum. Cinnamon buns. Good idea!

  2. dinnerwithjulie

    LOVE BBQ chicken pizza! It’s the best use of sad mushrooms, I think! let them live out their destiny…

  3. Marie

    Oh sweet! 10min. Pizza dough! I will be watching for the recipe! 🙂
    Weird that it turned out different this time then usual though! Thats always frustrating I think.

Leave a Reply

