Chocolate Chip Biscotti

Sunday night, the husband and I invited ourselves over to my parents’ house for dinner.  My mom asked me to bring dessert.  What to bring?!?  I had no ideas… I didn’t want anything too sweet, but I did want chocolate.  Hmm, what to have? 

I decided on biscotti.  When I lived at home, I used to make biscotti a lot, and my dad used to really enjoy it.  I thought it would be a nice treat for him. 

The other thing I love about my biscotti recipe is that it is low in calories and fat, yet it still definitely satisfies a craving for a chocolately treat.  If you’ve never made biscotti before, it’s actually really not that difficult.  They are formed into a log once and baked.  Then the biscotti need to cool.  Once they are cool, they are sliced and baked again, to create the hard texture. 

Dipping a crisp biscotti into a cup of delicious coffee is a great pleasure.  The cookie gets soft and begins to take on the coffee flavour.  Sooo delicious!

This recipe is a great basic recipe that lends itself well to additions.  The sky is truly the limit when it comes to a recipe like this one.  Next time, I am going to chop up a Lindt Dark Chocolate Orange bar and use it as chunks in my biscotti.  Yum! 

By the way, I have to give a shout out to my mom, probably my most dedicated blog reader.  Thanks mom!  She helped me set up the biscotti for these shots, and they turned out great!  Thanks a lot!  Love you!

Chocolate Chip Biscotti
adapted from One Smart Cookie

2 tbsp butter, softened
3/4 cup sugar
2 large eggs
1 tsp vanilla
2 cups flour
2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
1/2 cup chocoate chips, plus extra for dipping or drizzling, if desired

Preheat the oven to 350°F.  In a large bowl, mix butter, sugar, eggs and vanilla until smooth.  In a medium bowl, mix flour, baking powder and salt.  Add the flour mixture and chocolate chips to the egg mixture (I got distracted and didn’t premix the flour in another bowl.  The biscotti turned out fine).  Stir just until combined.  You may need to use your hands to help you combine the dough.
Turn the dough onto a floured surface.  Divide in half and shape each piece into an approximately 8″ long log.  Place logs on a cookie sheet that has been sprayed with non-stick spray (I used my Sil-Pat sheet on top of the baking sheet, instead of spray).  Flatten each rectangle so it is about 3″ wide.
Bake for 20-25 minutes, until firm and starting to crack on top.  Transfer the logs to a wire rack to cool for about 15 minutes.  Reduce oven temperature to 250°.
Cut each log diagonally into 1/2″ to 3/4″ slices with a serrated knife.  Place biscotti cut side down on a baking sheet.
Return to oven for 15 minutes, then flip over and bake for an additional 15 minutes.  Transfer to a wire rack to cool.
After cool, I melted some chocolate and dipped the bottom of each biscotti intoit.  It adds some additional chocolate yumminess, but it is not a necessary step.  If you’re a fan of white chocolate, some drizzled over the top would be really nice too!

Go have some biscotti and coffee!
The Hungry Teacher

9 Comments

Filed under Dessert

9 responses to “Chocolate Chip Biscotti

  1. Grandma Conkey

    I, too am an avid reader of your blogs, love every one of them….I am so very proud of you, keep up the good work….Love , Gram and Gramp

  2. Melody

    I also read it daily! Bruschetta pizza is what’s for dinner! Can’t wait…

    • Melody

      You have also inspired me to do a little blogging of my own. I had been thinking about it, well who hasn’t since Julie & Julia! How fun, looking forward to what you have cooking next.

      Mel

  3. Melody

    Made this one the other day my family and guests loved it! My little guy loved to dip it in my coffee, which became his in a hurry =)

  4. Kathy

    I’ve made these a couple of times already since they were posted, they are easy and yummy! I used dark chocolate M&M’s only because I wanted to use them up and not eat them. They do add a pretty color…:)

  5. Alicia

    I tried these out yesterday and I LOVE THEM! Thanks for sharing the recipe! I can’t wait to try out different variations.

Leave a comment