Cute Cupcakes!

A close friend of mine had a beautiful baby girl on December 23 (my dad’s birthday!), and  I had the chance to help throw her a baby shower.  We had the baby shower on Tuesday and it went great!  It was a lot of work, and I came home thoroughly exhausted, but it was fun, and I think mommy felt really special!

I decided to make cupcakes for the shower instead of a cake.  Something different, you know!  Cupcakes are so cute, and I was able to borrow 3 cupcake stands, which made for a nice presentation!  The cupcakes were a lot of  fun to make.  I made them on Sunday afternoon and iced them on Monday.  We served them at the baby shower on Tuesday, and my students eagerly gobbled up the leftovers, leaving a few for me to share with fellow staff members on Wednesday. 

All in all, the cupcakes were a success, even though there weren’t very many eaten.  There was a lot of other food that was brought by fellow guests, and there was also some other beautiful desserts. 

The cupcake recipe is so simple, I can’t believe I’m sharing it.  It was the recipe my Grandma Tolmie always used for wedding cakes and all of her amazing confections.  My Auntie uses it when she makes wedding cakes (even ours!).  The recipe ALWAYS turns out, and makes a moist, flavorful cake.  The recipe uses cake mix and instant pudding mix.  Feel free to mix and match the flavours to your heart’s content.  I made one batch of vanilla cupcakes and one batch of chocolate cupcakes (24 cupcakes each).  Because my recipe is from Grandma, and especially because she’s no longer around to ask questions of, I am not sure of the different sizes of pans and baking times for each one for this recipe.  I believe it’s pretty much the same as on the back of the cake mix box.

I used the recipe from my good old Betty Crocker cookbook for Buttercream Frosting.  It is so good!  I made the mistake of looking at the nutritional information.  Don’t.  Just realize that it’s a once-in-a-while treat!  If you only have it occasionally, it’s just fine, and definitely worth it!  Yum!!

Grandma’s Pound Cake
Recipe from Grandma Tolmie

1 cake mix
1 pkg. instant pudding mix
4 eggs
1 cup water
1/2 cup oil

Mix all ingredients until smooth.  Pour into prepared pan.  Bake at 350°F for at least 35 min. 

That’s all I have!  Use your discretion and follow the times on the back of the cake mix box.  This recipe made 24 cupcakes for me.  I used paper liners and took them out of the muffin tin right away, because I was making another batch. 

Vanilla Buttercream Frosting
from Betty Crocker Cookbook

3 cups powdered sugar
1/3 cup butter, softened
1-1/2 tsp vanilla
1-2 tbsp milk

Mix powdered sugar and butter in medium bowl with electric mixer on low speed (I used my hand mixer).  Stir in vanilla and one tbsp of the milk.  Gradually beat in just enough remaining milk to make frosting smooth and spreadable.  If frosting is too thick, beat in milk a few drops at a time.  If it’s too thin, beat in a small amount of powdered sugar.

I made 2 batches of frosting and it was enough for my 4 dozen cupcakes!

Enjoy!
The Hungry Teacher

2 Comments

Filed under Dessert

2 responses to “Cute Cupcakes!

  1. Pingback: GOLD!!! « The Hungry Teacher

Leave a Reply

