Chicken Tikka Masala

I discovered Indian food a few years ago… It’s amazing!  I love curries and samosas.  I have made samosas before, but they were a very North-Americanized version.  They were delicious, but not authentic.  So, maybe authentic samosas will be the next thing on my must cook Indian list.  This was the first time I had actually made curry from scratch (I tried butter chicken from a jar once).

I got Jamie Oliver’s new cookbook Jamie’s Food Revolution.  It’s amazing.  The pictures are beautiful, and there are tons of amazing looking recipes.  I’m in love with Jamie… I have 5 of his cookbooks, and I am not disappointed with any of them.  Sometimes, the recipes are a bit British, and I can’t get all of the ingredients, but that’s not the case with Jamie’s Food Revolution.  It’s totally practical and beautiful.

The book has a whole chapter on curries!  So exciting!  I’ve been wanting to try them for a very long time, so on Wednesday night, I finally did.  It turned out great!  Next time, we will use medium or hot curry paste, because we would like a bit more bite.  But, the recipe had great flavor, and for a mild curry, it was perfect.  Our curry was quite thin at the end of cooking time.  We had to simmer it for an additional 15 minutes with the lid off to evaporate the liquid.  So, I adapted the recipe to reflect that.

Now, the only thing I have to say, is that it’s Friday, and when you walk in our apartment, you can still smell curry.  But, it’s a small price to pay for an amazing dinner!

Chicken Tikka Masala
adapted from Jamie’s Food Revolution

4 skinless, boneless chicken breasts, sliced into 3/4 inch strips
2 medium onions, peeled halved and thinly sliced
1 fresh red chile, finely sliced
a thumb-sized piece of fresh ginger, peeled and thinly sliced
small bunch of fresh parsley, leaves picked and put aside, stems finely chopped (cilantro is what the recipe calls for, but I am not a fan of cilantro)
vegetable oil
a pat of butter
1/2 cup mild curry paste (I used Patak’s)
salt and pepper
1-14 oz can diced tomatoes
1-14 oz can coconut milk
1 cup plain yogurt
1 small handful sliced almonds

Put a large pan on medium to high heat and add some olive oil and butter.  Add the onions, chile, ginger and parsley stalks and cook for 10 minutes, until softened and golden.   Add curry paste and chicken.  Stir well to coat everything and add salt and pepper.  Add tomatoes and coconut milk.  Fill one of the empty cans with water, pour into pan and stir.  Bring to a boil and then turn heat down and simmer for 20 minutes with the lid off.  Jamie recommends checking it to make sure it doesn’t dry out, but this was definitely not a problem for me.  When the meat is cooked through, taste the curry and add more salt and pepper if necessary. 

Serve over rice, dolloped with yogurt, sprinkled with almonds and parsley.

Enjoy!
The Hungry Teacher

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Chicken Tikka Masala

  1. Kelly

    Ahh, I’ve been looking for a doable curry recipe! I’ll definitely be trying this out soon!

  2. Looks great. A different recipe without coconut milk and other ingredients for your comparison is at http://www.food-india.com/recipe/R051_R75/R071.htm

  3. Katie

    My mom (your great aunt Anne) sent me a link to your blog since she knows I like to cook and read food blogs. It has been great to read through. I have Jamie’s Food Revolution and I love it. I cook out of it at least once a week. I have made a few of the curries and I haven’t had to worry about them drying out at all, if anything I have had to worry about them having too much liquid. From now on I think I will add less liquid than he calls for. I have you bookmarked so I will keep reading!

  4. Pingback: Chicken Vindaloo and Naan « The Hungry Teacher

Leave a Reply

