Creme Brulee

On the weekend, I went to go see a play at the UFV theatre, Paper Wheat.  It was a great play!  I would recommend it.  It’s a musical about the Wheat Pool in Saskatchewan.  It sounds… well, kinda boring… but they did a good job!

We went to see the play with my mother-in-law and brother-in-law and his girlfriend.  I invited them all over for dessert.  It’s always a tough decision to decide what to make.  I paged through a few cookbooks, and in Make it Fast, Cook it Slow, there is recipe for slow-cooker creme brulee.  I decided to try it (it’s one of my mother-in-law’s favourite desserts).

It was a lot easier than I thought it would be!  I was going to use my slow cooker to cook the custard the first time, but, I wanted to make the creme brulee in individual ramekins, rather than in one dish like the recipe called for.  BUT, 5 ramekins would not fit into the slow cooker!  Grr!!  So, I ended up adapting the recipe for the oven.  I do not have a kitchen blow torch, so I had to broil them to caramelize the sugar on top. 

The creme brulee tasted delicious, but, it was a bit runny for some reason.  I’m wondering if it is because I broiled them, rather than torching them.  I think that may have overheated the dessert, causing the custard to seperate.  And, we ate it right away, after it was broiled, rather than chilling it again.  But, regardless, the dessert turned out wonderfully… even better than I thought!

Creme Brulee
adapted from http://crockpot365.blogspot.com/2008/02/crockpot-crme-brulee-recipe.html

2 cups heavy cream
5 egg yolks
1/2 cup sugar
1 Tbsp vanilla
1/4 cup raw sugar (for topping, later!)

Preheat the oven to 350°F. 

Get 4-6 ramekins and make sure that they fit into a baking dish (I used a 9×13 pan).  Place them in the dish.  Beat the egg yolks, then slowly whip in the cream, sugar and vanilla.  Mix until smooth.  Pour the mixture into the ramekins.  Now, put the 9×13 pan on the oven rack and add tap water around the ramekins, until the water is halfway up the ramekins outer side.   Put this in the oven, and cook for around an hour.  Mine took closer to one hour and 20 minutes.  When the edges are set, but the center is still jiggly, remove from the oven. 

If you would like to try it in the slow cooker, pour the custard into a dish that will fit inside your cooker.  Try a 1-1/2 quart dish.  Then, add water to the outside of the dish until it is halfway up the outside of the dish.  Cook on high for 2-4 hours.  Chill for 3 hours. 

Place the ramekins in the refrigerator and chill for at least three hours.   Turn on the broiler (or your kitchen blow torch).  Sprinkle raw sugar on the top of each custard .  Broil until the sugar is caramelized.  Now, you can chill them again for a few hours until they are cool.  Eat and enjoy!

Go ahead!  Try it!
The Hungry Teacher

5 Comments

Filed under Dessert, Slow cooker

5 responses to “Creme Brulee

  1. Marie

    I am good friends with Bethany…she said they were delish!

  2. Bethany

    You did an amazing job making them!
    I never had this dessert before, but you definitely made me want to have it again!

  3. These look delicious! thanks for sharing 🙂

  4. I love making creme brulees for a dinner party. The last time I did it, my teenage nieces took turns using the mini blow torch on them. They had a blast.

Leave a Reply

