Cocoa Brownies!

 

So, when I opened up my google reader this morning to indulge in my favourite food blogs, this post by Smitten Kitchen caught my eye!  It is for “The Best Cocoa Brownies”.  The beautiful pictures and the great description caught my eye.

So, I made them.  WOW!!!!!!!!! Incredible brownies!  They are fudgy, chocolatey, rich and delicious!!!! 

Smitten Kitchen says that they taste similar to “gasp!” boxed brownie mix.  When I brought my brownies to my “testers” (mom and sister), my sister said that they tasted like brownie mix, but better.  I knew Smitten had a winner of a recipe when my mom called me as soon as she got home and asked for the recipe!

The recipe calls for a double boiler.  I just use a stainless steel bowl over a pan of simmering water.  It works just fine!  Apparently, Smitten Kitchen says that you can use a microwave too.  But I like the double boiler method.  It’s fun!

So, here is the recipe.  You’ve gotta try it!!!

Best Cocoa Brownies
recipe from Smitten Kitchen — check it out.  Her pictures are amazing!
Makes 25 small brownies

3/4 cup unsalted butter (I used salted butter, because it was what I had, and I decreased the salt to a couple shakes from my table salt shaker)
1-1/4 cup sugar
3/4 cup plus 2 Tbsp cocoa powder (I used Fry’s, it was good!)
1/4 tsp salt (decrease salt if using salted butter!)
1/2 tsp pure vanilla extract
2 large eggs, cold
1/2 cup all-purpose flour

Place a rack in the bottom third of the oven and preheat to 325°F.  Line an 8×8″ pan with parchment paper, leaving some hanging over the sides.

Combine the butter, sugar, cocoa powder and salt in the top of a double boiler.  Heat over a pan of lightly simmering water.  Stir occasionally until the butter is melted.  Take off of the water, and let sit for a few minutes to cool down a bit.  Stir in the vanilla.    Add the eggs one at a time, stirring well after each one is added.  When the batter is shiny and well-blended, add the flour.  Stir until just combined, and then beat vigorously for 40 strokes with a spoon.  Pour into the prepared pan. 

Bake for 20-25 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out with a little bit of moist batter on it.  My brownies took closer to 30-35 minutes to cook.  Let the brownies cool completely, then take them out of the pan, by pulling on the overhanging parchment paper, put on a cutting board and cut.  I washed my knife with hot water in between cuts to clean the knife and facilitate cutting.  Cut into 25 squares (or if you’re feeling over-indulgent, 16 squares!)

Enjoy these brownies!
The Hungry Teacher

Leave a comment

Filed under Chocolate, Dessert

Leave a Reply

