Smoked Salmon Dip

Wow!  What a busy week!  We had Science Fair in the evening at school, which meant a late, exhausting day.  But, it’s all done now, and this teacher couldn’t be happier!  Doing Science Fair with grade 3 and 4 students is hard work! 

By the way, on Tuesday night, I broke my favourite kitchen tool — my garlic press.  What a sad day.  I now have to peel and mince my garlic 😦  until I buy a new press.  Then, when I was making my smoked salmon dip, my pepper mill (which was just a plastic one from Costco) broke and delivered a bunch of whole and half cracked peppercorns into the dip.  I managed to scoop them out, but it’s been a sad week in my kitchen.

Last night, we had our staff social with work.  We did a progressive dinner, doing appetizers at two places (including mine) and dessert at one house.  It was a lot of fun!

I had to make appetizers that could be served with minimal preparation.  I had plans the night before, which meant I had about an hour to clean my apartment from head to toe and prepare appetizers!   Plus, I had to work all day, so I didn’t have time to clean the house before people came over. 

So, I decided to make bruschetta and smoked salmon dip.  I first had smoked salmon dip at my father-in-law’s place.  It is so good!  (Actually, I wasn’t sure how much I liked it then, but when I made it for some friends, and they quickly devoured it I realized what a good dip I had!!!)

The dip is quick and easy, and perfect to make ahead.  As with most dips, it tastes better after it sits overnight.  I served it with crackers (Whole grain crackers and mini-baguette crackers), but I think bread or vegetables would also be good.  We have canned smoked salmon from when the Husband went fishing. I’m not sure how you buy smoked salmon in the store– living by the Fraser River and with the Husband’s yearly fishing trips, I’ve never bought salmon!  Canned salmon would also work in this dish.

Smoked Salmon Dip
recipe adapted from Brian Wierks

1 tub (250 g) herb-and-garlic spreadable cream cheese
1 can smoked salmon
1/4 cup light mayonnaise
salt and pepper to taste

Blend all ingredients together well.  Using an electric hand mixer is easy, but doing it with a spoon is satisfying.  Let chill for at least 2 hours, preferably overnight.

Serve with crackers, bread and/or vegetables!

Enjoy!
The Hungry Teacher

3 Comments

Filed under Appetizers

3 responses to “Smoked Salmon Dip

  1. It is mouth-watering just reading your post. Thank you for sharing this recipe. Sorry to hear about your garlic mincer. My favorite is one called “Garlic Twist” which you can get just by typing http://www.garlicmincers.com

    You are so lucky to live up near Fraser River and have a husband who goes fishing. I live in a remote area in Arizona so unfortunately I don’t have ready access to Costco so I order my salmon at http://www.order-salmon.com which has a great selection including wild Alaskan salmon caviar (http://www.order-salmon.com/buy-salmon-caviar.php ).

    One other great thing about salmon is what it does for your skin and skin tone. I read on that same website that salmon is a “rare dietary source of DMAE, the natural human neurochemical proven to help improve muscle tone in the face, thereby reducing wrinkles.” Another good reason I guess, why salmon has become so incredibly popular.

    A big ‘thumbs up’ to your husband for ‘bringing home the salmon’ so to speak.
    Gina

Leave a Reply

