Cuban Black Beans and Rice

In May, we went to Cuba for my brother-in-law’s wedding.  The wedding was in Varadero (where we went for our honeymoon).  While we were there, we had the opportunity to go into Havana for a couple of days.  Havana is an interesting, incredible city, full of unique sights and sounds that are uniquely Cuban.  While we were there, we went for a dinner in someone’s house (it was kind of a restaurant in a house).   We had a feast there!  One of the dishes that was my favourite was Black Beans and Rice. 

These are pictures of some of the sights and sounds of Havana.

I have been looking for a recipe to try since we got back.  Well, when reading blogs, I came across this recipe on Peanut Butter & Jargon.  I decided I had to give it a try! 

This dish is delicious!  While it is not authentic, like the beans and rice we tried in Cuba, it was so good!  It’s hard to convince my carnivorous husband that a meatless meal is okay occasionally.  I managed to convince him to try it.  He enjoyed it as much as I did!  Beans and rice together form a complete protein, so it’s a complete meal in a bowl!  Yum!

This meal is so quick to make!  The original recipe calls for cilantro, but for some reason, I don’t like cilantro, so I omitted it.  If you like it, you can add some chopped cilantro to the top for garnish and flavour.  If I had some, I would have used parsley as a substitute. 

Cuban Black Beans and Rice
adapted from Peanut Butter & Jargon
Serves 3-4

1 Tbsp. olive oil
1 medium onion, diced
1/2 red pepper, chopped
3 cloves garlic, minced
1-1/2 tsp chili powder
1-1/2 tsp cumin
1/4 tsp oregano
14 oz. can of diced tomatoes
2-14 oz cans black beans, drained and rinsed (for some reason, 14 oz cans of black beans are not sold here, so I used 2 19 oz cans of beans.  It worked out just fine!)
1/3 cup water
hot sauce, to taste (I added quite a bit of Tabasco)
1 bay leaf
cooked rice

Heat olive oil in a skillet over medium heat.  Add the onion, red pepper and garlic, and cook until softened, about 5 minutes.  Stir in the chili powder, cumin and oregano.  Cook and stir for 30 seconds.  Add the diced tomatoes, black beans, water, hot sauce and bay leaf.  Cook over medium heat for about 10 minutes, or until thickened.  Remove the bay leaf and season with salt and pepper to taste.  Serve over the rice.  I put some grated Cheddar cheese on top of ours.  Delicious!!

3 Comments

Filed under Dinner, Vegetarian

3 responses to “Cuban Black Beans and Rice

  1. Marie

    yum!
    I also greatly dislike cilantro and dont know why…

  2. Amy, this too funny! We must totally have been thinking along the same lines this week!! I made a dish a few nights ago with a lot of the same ingredients! (Mine wasn’t vegetarian- I think I only get about 3 passes a year to serve a vegetarian meal to my husband- LOL.) Must be something in the air… Your dinner looks delish!

    And you girls are CRAZY for not loving cilantro!! It’s my favorite herb! That, and basil, or course… Oh, and fresh rosemary. Oh, and thyme. Well, you get it.

    • I love every herb but cilantro! I am trying to think of a way to like it. Every time I have it, I think of a happy place, and instead of thinking “ew” I think happy thoughts. Maybe it’ll work!

      I get about 3 passes a year for vegetarian at my house as well!!!! Haha… and I used one up already! But, Ryan and I went to Dairy Queen for dessert, so I think that made up for it;)

Leave a Reply

