British Beef and Onion Pie

When we were in Britain this summer, the husband had a steak and ale pie that he really enjoyed.  I saw a recipe for British Beef and Onion Pie in Jamie’s Food Revolution.  I decided I had to try it!  I had picked out the recipe a few weeks ago, and I finally made it this week.

Now, I plan my meals each week.  That may seem crazy, but I hate not knowing what I’m going to have for dinner.  Ask my mom- I’ve been that way for as long as I can remember!!!  I had planned to make the Beef Pie for dinner on Monday.  I made my pie crusts on Sunday, while the husband was watching football.  Well, I sat down to eat breakfast on Monday morning, and I decided to read through the recipe.  Good thing I did!  The filling for the pie had to simmer for an hour, and then cool down and then once the pie was ready to go, it had to bake for 40 minutes!  There is no way I have two hours for dinner on a week night!  So, I made something different for dinner that night. 

While my dinner on Monday (Aussie Chicken, yum!  One day I’ll post the recipe) was cooking, I made the filling for the Pie and let it simmer for an hour.  After that, I let it cool down, and then I put it in the fridge.  So, tonight, when I made dinner, I just took out the filling and my pie crusts, assembled it, and cooked the pie for about 55 minutes.  It was great!  The filling has awesome flavour.  The pie is really rich and delicious.  We ate it with a green salad for dinner. 

Now, obviously, this dinner was not a quick meal.  But if you have some time on the weekend or another weeknight to prepare the filling, it  only takes about 45 minutes to cook!  The pie is really comfort food at its finest. 

Jamie’s recipe called for only a pie crust on the top, but I made mine with a double pie crust.  I had enough filling to make two pies (I froze half of the filling for next time).  The original recipe also called for Marmite.  I added some extra Worcestershire sauce to the filling, and it was fine!  Next time, I think I’m going to make these in ramekins as individual pot pies!  They would be so cute!  Or, what about making them in muffin tins, with a double pie crust for appetizers?  It could be a lot of fun!

Jamie’s British Beef and Onion Pie
adapted from Jamie’s Food Revolution
serves 4

3 medium onions
2 carrots
2 stalks celery
1/2 tsp dried rosemary
olive oil
2 bay leaves
1 pound ground beef
1 tsp. English mustard (I used Dijon as a substitute)
1 tsp. Marmite (I added extra Worcestershire sauce)
1 Tbsp. Worcestershire sauce
2 tsp flour, plus extra for dusting
4 cups beef broth
2 x 9″ pie crusts
1 large egg or a splash of milk

Peel and finely chop onions, carrots and celery.  Heat 2 Tbsp olive oil in a large skillet over medium heat.  Add the vegetables, rosemary and the bay leaves.  Stir about once a minute for ten minutes, or until the vegetables are softened and lightly coloured.  Stir in the ground beef, breaking up large chunks.  Stir in the mustard, Marmite, Worcestershire sauce and 2 tsp of flour.  Add the beef broth and bring to a boil.  Turn down the heat and let simmer, covered with the lid slightly askew for about an hour, stirring occasionally.

Preheat the oven to 350°F.  Take out your pastry shell and fill with the filling.   Dust a clean work surface with flour.  Roll out your top pie crust until it is big enough to cover the top of your pie plate.  Carefully fold the crust in half and place on your pie.  Trim the excess crust off the edge of the pie with a sharp knife.  Push the edges of the pie together and seal with your fingers.  Cut some slits in the top crust of the pie to let out steam.  Brush the top of the pie with either beaten egg or milk.  Bake in the preheated oven for 40 minutes, or until the pastry is crisp and golden. 

Serve with a green salad or other vegetable!  Simply scrumptious!

Enjoy!
The Hungry Teacher

3 Comments

Filed under Beef, Dinner

3 responses to “British Beef and Onion Pie

  1. Mmmmm this looks delicious! Nice to see how you split it across two nights to make it “midweek” friendly, good call! 🙂

  2. What a mouth-watering looking pie! It sounds delicious! Love your idea for individual pies.

  3. I too like to have all my meals planned. I’d definitely make an exception for this though, so savory! Yum!

Leave a Reply

