I Love Cornbread

Cornbread is one of my favourite foods.  I should say that I have about twenty-five favourite foods!  But, I love cornbread.  I’m not sure what it is… maybe the golden yellow colour, the crumbly, amazing texture, the feel of cornmeal, the taste of butter melted on top… it could be any one of those things!!  It’s so delicious!

This recipe comes from a parent at my school.  The grade 7’s made hot lunch for the entire school, and their cornbread was delicious!  So, I asked for the recipe.  It may just be the  oddest place I have ever acquired a recipe, but a good recipe is a good recipe!!!!

Now, before I get to the recipe, I just have to say how proud I am to be a Canadian!  The Olympics are practically in my backyard, and all day today my husband and I have been glued to the TV, cheering on our country!  We’ve watched speed skating, women’s moguls and women’s hockey!  The Opening Ceremonies last night was incredible!  I am a Canadian!!!!!!  Next week, we are going to watch women’s preliminary curling (Canada vs. Japan) and also men’s hockey preliminary (Canada vs. US!)!!!!!!!!  GO, CANADA, GO!

Cornbread
Recipe from a parent at my school
Recipe serves 8 to 10.
I doubled the recipe and made it in a 9×13 pan, and cut it into 32 pieces.

1 cup all-purpose flour
3/4 cup cornmeal
2-3 Tbsp sugar (I used 3)
2-1/2 tsp baking powder
3/4 tsp salt
1 Tbsp butter
2 beaten eggs
1 cup milk
1/4 cup cooking oil or melted butter (I used butter)

Preheat oven to 400°F. 

In a medium bowl, stir together flour, cornmeal, sugar, baking powder and salt; set aside.

Add 1 Tbsp butter to a 10-inch cast iron skillet, a 9-inch round pan or a 8×8 pan.  Place in hot oven for about 3 minutes, or until butter melts.  Remove pan from oven, swirl butter to coat the bottom and sides of pan.

Meanwhile, in a small bowl, combine eggs, milk, and oil.  Add egg mixture all at once to flour mixture.  Stir just until moistened.  Pour batter into hot pan.  Bake for 15-2o minutes, or until a wooden toothpick inserted near center comes out clean.  If you doubled the recipe, you may need to bake the cornbread for longer.  Serve warm!  

Enjoy this delicious treat!
The Hungry Teacher

5 Comments

Filed under Bread, Side Dish

5 responses to “I Love Cornbread

  1. Mike

    My grandmother used almost the same recipe but without the sugar, she used to say about sweet cornbread “if you are going to make cake, make cake, if you want corn bread you don’t use sugar.
    She also used bacon drippings in hers. Mmmmm!!
    But I like it either way, with lots of butter.

    • I love grandma sayings!
      Being from Canada, I’m not really culturally partial to cornbread either way. But I think a bit of sugar is nice!
      Bacon drippings… yum! Maybe one day I’ll actually save my bacon fat. This is the second time in about a week that it’s come up as useful for a recipe!

  2. I love cornbread too. Thanks for this article, I don’t usually make it, but this seems easy enough to try.

  3. making this right now for one of our late-night cravings! looks great!

Leave a Reply

