7-Layer Dip

This was meant to be posted on Friday night.  But, I decided to bake cookies instead and didn’t get around to posting it.  Then, after spending all weekend in Vancouver at the Olympics, I needed a night of rest.  Hence, this post is a few days late.  But maybe you can have this dip for your Friday night meal, like I had it for mine last weekend!

After last week, I know why I plan my meals each week! 

1.  I like knowing what I’m having each night for dinner.
2.  Going to the grocery store after work each night isn’t fun.
3.  Spending time after school looking for recipes isn’t exactly the best use of my time
4. I like knowing what’s for dinner each night (wait, did I say that already?)

I am a routine oriented person.  I love my routines, which is probably why I love teaching grade 3 and 4.  I get to make the routines and keep them! 

So, when I wasn’t teaching today, I was trying to figure out what to make for dinner.  After school I decided to look on one of my favourite recipe blogs, www.simplyrecipes.com, which is a fantastic blog, by the way!  I clicked on “Quick Meals” and the first thing to come up was 7-Layer Dip.  Probably because the list was alphabetical, and numbers came before the actual alphabet.

I’m not sure if I’ve said this already in another post, but I love appetizers, and especially dip.  So, when a dip came up under quick meals, I thought…. why not make dip for dinner?  It’s really ingenious, if you think about it!!  It’s actually not THAT unhealthy.  It’s got beans (protein), sour cream and cheese (dairy), avocado, tomato and jalapenos (veggies) plus chips (grains).  So, basically, I have a meal that encompasses every food group (at least all the ones that matter; tomatoes are actually a fruit, you know!).

So, I did it.  Dip and only dip for dinner.  I feel like I’m breaking a cardinal rule and my mom would disapprove.  But, I called her while I was making dinner, and she helped me justify it.  Thanks, Mom!  I made some adjustments to the dip, and it was so good! 

The recipe calls for bacon or bacon fat.  This is the first time in my life I have actually seen a recipe that calls for bacon fat.  My grandma used to keep a coffee can of bacon fat on the stove, and I always wondered why.  I’m still not sure I would keep bacon fat, but at least now I have a recipe that calls for it.  If you omit this, the recipe is vegetarian!

7-Layer Bean Dip
Recipe adapted from http://simplyrecipes.com/
Makes 8 servings (or more like 2-3 for dinner.  I was hungry!)

1 strip of bacon, minced (or 1 tsp bacon fat), optional
1-14 oz can refried beans (I used a can of refried black beans– low-fat…)
1 tsp chipotle chili powder
1/4 – 1/2 tsp cumin
Salt
1 cup shredded Cheddar cheese (you could also use Monterey Jack)
1 Tbsp of chopped pickled jalapenos (more to taste)
1 avocado, peeled and chopped
1 tomato, cut in half horizontally, seeds and juice squeezed out and discarded, flesh chopped
1/3 cup of sour cream
1 small can of sliced olives

Cook the bacon in a medium pan until crisp.  Add in the refried beans.  Stir in enough water to get a good dipping consistency.  I added about 2 Tbsp, the original recipe called for about 1/4 cup.  Mix in the chipotle chili powder and cumin to taste.  I also misread the recipe and mixed in my chopped jalapenos here.  And I added more to the top.  It was spicy and oh-so-delicious!  Make it a bit spicier than you think you will like it, because the avocados and sour cream will cool it down.  Stir in some salt to taste. 

When the beans are hot and bubbly, spread them on a warm serving dish (I used a dinner plate).  Immediately add the Cheddar cheese so it melts a bit.  Layer on the chopped jalapenos, avocado and tomato.  Spoon the sour cream on over top and sprinkle over the olives. 

Serve immediately with tortilla chips.  I highly recommend having a few people over when you have this, unless you want to eat it all.  You won’t be able to stop.  My husband and I ate almost the whole thing for dinner.  And yes, it was totally worth having dip for dinner. 

Enjoy this!!!
XOXO,
The Hungry Teacher

Stumble It!

Leave a comment

Filed under Appetizers, Dinner, Vegetarian

Leave a Reply

