Cinnamon Buns

Oh my blog… how I’ve missed you!  I have been incredibly busy over the past two weeks… our moving day is now only 3 weeks away, so we’ve been busy with all of the decisions that need to be made, plus packing, meetings and softball started!   But, I’ll try to blog when I can!

Cinnamon buns are something I have always loved (who doesn’t, really?).  I like mine without frosting.  I’m not quite sure why… but I feel like it adds too much sweetness to something that is already perfect!  I have been making them for a long time… but they always lack something!  I think it’s that ooey, gooeyness that comes with amazing cinnamon buns.

So, I went to a family friend, who is an awesome cinnamon bun maker, for help.  This lady is amazing!  One time, we went on a road trip and this family came with us.  We picked them up at 7:30 or something pretty early, and she had gotten up to make fresh cinnamon buns for the trip!  Wow!  That’s dedication!  She gave me a tutorial on making cinnamon buns and then sent me home with the recipe.

Her recipe for cinnamon buns is sooooo good!  We had them for lunch… and most of them are now gone, as it is now almost 4:00 in the afternoon and my husband and I have both been home all day!

The sweet dough recipe makes enough for two batches of cinnamon buns.  I froze half of my dough for another time.  When it’s time to use it, I’ll let it thaw overnight in the fridge and then probably bake cinnamon buns with it!

Cinnamon Buns
Recipe from Carol

Basic Sweet Dough

1 cup milk
1/3 cup granulated sugar
2 tsp sugar
1/2 cup shortening
1 tsp sugar
1 cup lukewarm water
2-1/4 tsp active dry yeast
1 egg, slightly beaten
4-1/2 – 5 cups all purpose flour

Scald the milk.  Pour it into a large bowl.  Add the first amount of sugar, salt and shortening and stir until the shortening melts.  Cool to lukewarm.  Meanwhile, dissolve the second amount of sugar into the water. Sprinkle the yeast over the water.  Let stand for 10 minutes, then stir with a for.  Add to the milk mixture along with the egg.  Stir.  Beat in 2 cups of flour.   Then, gradually beat in the remaining 2-1/2 – 3 cups of flour until the dough is well-formed and coming away from the edges of the bowl.  Turn the dough onto a floured surface and knead for 8-10 minutes.  Shape into a smooth ball and place in a greased bowl, turning dough to grease surface.  Cover and let rise in a warm place until doubled (about 1 hour and 15 minutes). 

Cinnamon Buns

1/2 of the basic sweet dough recipe
1 Tbsp butter, melted
1/4 cup granulated sugar
1 Tbsp cinnamon
1/4 cup butter, melted
1/2 cup lightly packed brown sugar

Roll the punched dough into a 9″x12″ rectangle on a lightly floured surface.  Brush with first amount of melted butter.  Combine the granulated sugar and cinnamon and sprinkle on the dough.  Roll up tightly like a jelly roll, starting at the longer side.  Cut into 12 one inch slices. 

Combine the second amount of butter and the brown sugar.  Spread in the bottom of an 8″ square pan.  Place the slices, cut side down, in the prepared pan.  Cover and let rise until doubled (about 45 min).  Bake in a preheated 400° F oven for 20 -25 minutes.  Invert at once on a serving plate.

Enjoy!
The Hungry Teacher

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Cinnamon Buns

  1. Bethany

    Mmmm Amy these look amazing! I am really craving one now!

Leave a Reply

