Crispy Garlic Chicken and Sweet Spiced Pecans

Dinner tonight was simple, but so delicious!  We were supposed to have softball, but our game got rained out.

Now, before I get onto dinner,  I simply must share this recipe for granola bars with you.  I have been raving about for a few weeks.  Everyone keeps telling me to blog about it, but Smitten Kitchen did such a good job that there is nothing I would change about it!  These granola bars are far better than store bought and can be made with whatever ingredients you have/want in them!  They are truly delicious, and I can make them peanut free so I can bring them to school.  So, if you want to make AMAZING granola bars, check out this recipe for Thick, Chewy Granola Bars.

So, for dinner, I decided to try this recipe for Crunchy Garlic Chicken from Jamie’s Food Revolution.  There were two main reasons it appealed to me.  1.  Garlic.  2.  It looked quick.  I was not even going to blog about this recipe, but after tasting it, I decided I must!  The breading on this chicken has so much flavour it is incredible!  We had chicken and  a green salad and it was a great, simple week night meal.  I can definitely see this meal becoming a stand-by!  I baked the chicken, but it could also be fried in olive oil in a skillet, 4-5 minutes on each side.

Now, the Sweet Spiced Pecans are from Grazing, by Julie Van Rosendaal.  Oh, my, goodness!  These pecans are to die for!  You must try them.  They add so much to a simple green salad that it is incredible!  They are also amazing as a snack!  I make the full recipe and store the rest in a ziploc baggie in the freezer.  They stay good for as long  as they last (which won’t be very long!), and are amazing sprinkled on a salad.  The recipe calls for fresh rosemary, and I have substituted dry before.  But, I was all out tonight, and the pecans are still really good without it!

Crunchy Garlic Chicken
Serves 2
Recipe adapted from Jamie’s Kitchen

1 clove garlic, peeled
1 lemon, zested
6 crackers (I used Stoned Wheat Thins)
2 Tbsp butter
4 springs of fresh parsley (I didn’t have any, but I used some dried parsley)
sea salt and freshly ground black pepper
2 heaped Tbsp all-purpose flour
2 skinless, boneless chicken breasts
1 large egg

Preheat the oven to 450ºF.  Put the garlic, lemon zest, butter, parsley and some salt and pepper into a food processor.  Whiz until the mixture is very fine and pour onto a plate.  Sprinkle the flour on a second plate.  Crack the egg into a bowl and beat with a fork.  If you want to, you can pound the chicken breasts with a heavy pan, plate or pounder in between some plastic wrap to flatten it.  This helps it to cook more evenly.  Dip the chicken into the flour so both sides are completely coated, then dip into the egg and into the crumbs.  Press the crumbs onto the chicken to make sure it is completely coated.  Place the chicken onto a sheet pan and bake for 15 minutes, until cooked through, golden and crisp.  Serve with a lemon wedge on the side!

Sweet Spiced Pecans
Makes 2 cups
Recipe from Grazing

2 cups pecan halves
2 Tbsp butter, melted
1 Tbsp packed brown sugar
1 tsp balsamic vinegar
2 drops hot sauce
1 Tbsp chopped rosemary
1/4 tsp cayenne pepper
1/2 tsp salt
freshly ground black pepper, to taste

Preheat oven to 300ºF.  Combine everything but the pecans in a medium bowl.  Add the pecans and stir until they are well coated.  Spread in a single layer on a baking sheet.  Bake for 10 – 15 minutes, until golden.  Let cool, and enjoy!

 Enjoy this quick, healthy meal!
The Hungry Teacher

1 Comment

Filed under Chicken, Side Dish

One response to “Crispy Garlic Chicken and Sweet Spiced Pecans

  1. Pingback: Spaghetti with Shrimp and Arugula « The Hungry Teacher

Leave a Reply

