Daring Cooks Challenge: Brunswick Stew

The 2010 April Daring Cooks challenge was hosted by Wolf of Wolf’s Den. She chose to challenge Daring Cooks to make Brunswick Stew. Wolf chose recipes for her challenge from The Lee Bros. Southern Cookbook by Matt Lee and Ted Lee, and from the Callaway, Virginia Ruritan Club.

So, it’s time for another Daring Cooks challenge.  I have to admit, I wasn’t very excited about this challenge.  I realize that in many parts of North America it’s still wintery, but here, it’s getting pretty springy!  I am ready for light, healthy meals.  But, in the spirit of being challenged, I made this stew for dinner on Sunday night.

Now, as I’ve never been to the South and never heard of Brunswick Stew, I had no idea what it was supposed to taste like!  Apparently, the original recipe calls for rabbit (or even squirrel).  I have never seen rabbit in the supermarket or butcher shop here!  But, we were allowed to substitute other types of meat.  There were two recipes to use… one was long and involved, the other was short and sweet.  I decided to go with the short and sweet variety!

The stew turned out pretty good!  It has so many different kinds of meat in it that there were a lot of different flavours… which I guess is the point!  Basically, I’m not sure that I’d make this again, but it was good to try something new!  By the way, I used all of the ingredients called for, but did not include carrots and substituted frozen green beans for the lima beans.  I also used ground turkey and browned it first, because I had some in the freezer!

Brunswick Stew
Serves 8-10

2 ½ lb TOTAL diced stewed chicken, turkey, and ham, with broth – yes, all three meats
3 medium diced potatoes
2 medium ripe crushed tomatoes
2 medium diced onions
3 cups/ 689.76 grams / 24.228oz frozen corn
1 ½ cups / 344.88 grams / 12.114oz frozen lima beans
4-5 strips crumbled bacon
½ stick / 4 tablespoons / ¼ cup / 56.94 grams / 2oz of butter
1 Tablespoon / 14.235 grams / .5 oz sugar
1 Tablespoon / 14.235 grams / .5 oz ‘Poultry Seasoning’
Dash of red pepper
2 diced carrots (optional)
Tomato juice

In large stock pot or Dutch Oven, mix all ingredients, heat until bubbly and hot. Add salt and pepper to taste. Add tomato juice as desired. Cook until all vegetables are tender. Serve hot.

So, if you want to try some Southern food, give it a try!

XOXO,
The Hungry Teacher

2 Comments

Filed under Stew

2 responses to “Daring Cooks Challenge: Brunswick Stew

  1. I just had to drop by, because I’m a hungry teacher too! I didn’t do this challenge, because it didn’t appeal, unfortunately–it was quite warm and springy here in Canada, though it’s turned rainy and cool recently. Can’t wait for the next one:)

Leave a Reply

